FaceTime is a standard feature on the iPhone, iPad, and Mac. It allows iPhone users to have video and audio conversations over the Internet. Calls can be made back and forth as long as Internet and Apple ID is available. Like other platforms, FaceTime also offers the feature to block someone from contacting you. Which often makes one wonder if you can facetime someone who blocked you. Read below to find out.
How To Check If Someone Has Blocked You On Facetime?
If you have an iPhone, you can use Facetime to see if someone has blocked your number. Only if the other person has an iPhone would this work. FaceTime is very helpful in this situation because it will keep ringing for a long time, even if the person has blocked you.
You can only use this to find out if they haven’t blocked you, not if they have. Since calls keep ringing even if you block them, if the person who answers, you haven’t been blocked.
If the person you think has blocked you doesn’t answer, this could also mean that you haven’t been blocked. But just because the person doesn’t answer doesn’t mean they’ve blocked you.
To be more sure, you’d have to try this out over the course of a week.
What Happens When You Block Someone On Facetime?
When you block someone’s number, the blocked number will be completely ignored by your iPhone regardless of whom it belongs.
At the very least, notifications like texting, calling and using FaceTime will. Unfortunately, blocking a number on your iPhone does not prevent the other person from contacting you through social media or messaging services like WhatsApp, Facebook, or Instagram.
Can You FaceTime Someone Who Blocked You?
The answer to this question is unfortunately no. Even though your FaceTime call will sound like any other call, the person who has blocked you will not be able to see or hear it. To them, the Facetime call will sound like a regular phone call, but to you, it will be completely undetectable.
If you call someone who has blocked you on FaceTime, your call will ring as usual, but they will not receive the Facetime call. Nothing on their phone will indicate that you are calling, but you will hear a standard Facetime ringtone.
You may believe that they will hear the call because your call is ringing normally, as opposed to a typical call that goes directly to voicemail, but nothing will occur on their end even though your call is ringing regularly.
If Someone Blocks You, Will FaceTime Still Ring?
At some time, you may be on the receiving end of the block, unable to reach a certain contact. If you are certain that the other user has banned you, but you still need to communicate with them, you need to find other means to contact them aside from FaceTime.
Facetime provides no indication as to whether or not a user has restricted your access. Facetime calls will not connect, and will show no notification. As if they never recieved any phone calls. The only indication that a Facetime call is not going through is that your call is not answered multiple times.
If the recipient has blocked you on FaceTime, the other person will not recieve any type of notification on their phone regardless of the numbers you call them. Calls from blocked contacts will not ring, and you will not receive a notification if they make a voice or video call while they are blocked. Blocking them has the same effect as blocking regular calls; it prevents them from contacting you.
While attempting to connect with the restricted callers, their phones would ring. They will continue to hear this ringtone whenever they call, and they will be unaware that they have been banned.
How To Find Out If You’ve Been Blocked On FaceTime?
You can keep calling someone who has blocked you if you think they aren’t near the phone or are busy with something else and hope they hear it and pick up. Don’t think that the ringing sounds mean that someone is calling you, because everything you hear is just the server trying to respond to your request.
It’s important to know that if you’re on the list of people who can’t use FaceTime, the ring number on a normal FaceTime call will be different. Whether the call is turned down or answered, you will notice that it rings around four times. On the other hand, if a call is blocked, it will ring more than ten times. FaceTime might not work because the network connection is bad, but blocking is a different story.
When a person who has blocked them tries to FaceTime them, the blocked caller’s call will just keep ringing until the blocked caller stops and leaves the blocked caller alone. If you want to talk to someone on Facetime who has blocked you, you won’t be able to call or text that number.
How To Enable FaceTime On My Phone?
FaceTime being unavailable could be annoying for those who use it regularly. When FaceTime is inaccessible on a smartphone, the phrase “FaceTime unavailable” usually pops up. There are numerous reasons why this may occur.
If FaceTime is already disabled on your iOS device, you will need to manually enable it. Here is how to proceed.
- You may access the Settings app from the Home Screen of your device.
- Select FaceTime from the menu dropdown.
- Locate the toggle button next to FaceTime and enable it.
- FaceTime should now become available and ready for immediate use.
For a visual representation, refer to the video below:
You may also be interested in:
- How To Tell If Someone’s Phone Is Dead
- Does Snapchat Location Turn Off When Your Phone Dies?
- Instagram Stories Won’t Upload? Try These Amazing Fixes
If you are blocked on FaceTime, the other person will never answer your call, and your texts will never get there. The other person will never be notified that you called them. In the event that your calls remain unanswered continiously, it is safe to say that you have been blocked.
To confirm that you are indeed blocked, use a friend’s phone to call the number that blocked you. If the phone rings and someone answers it, you can confirm that you’ve indeed been blocked.