We all have that one person in our DMs who manages to constantly annoy us and be an overall nuisance – via spamming snaps, sending irrelevant messages, or content that is not exactly according to our taste. Fortunately, Snapchat offers its users the ability to block a person, allowing the user to micromanage what he prefers to see and what not. But what happens to the chats and snaps shared between the two persons when one of them blocks the other person? Does the other person get notified of the block? Let’s have a look to find out more.
Does Blocking Someone On Snapchat Delete Messages?
Before discussing does blocking someone on Snapchat delete messages, it is important to know the basic idea of Snapchat blocks.
You might also be interested to read: How to send a Snap from Camera Roll in Snapchat?
How To Block Contacts On Snapchat?
You can block someone by following the steps mentioned below:
- Open the Snapchat app.
- Go to recently saved messages.
- Tap on the user’s profile icon and then tap the menu icon.
- Select More.
- Now tap on block.
Now the person is blocked and will no longer be able to contact or see your posts anymore, up until you decide to unblock them.
How To Unblock Contacts On Snapchat?
Perhaps you want to unblock someone finally, be it for whatever reason; you can do so by following the steps mentioned below:
- Open the Snapchat app, and go to your profile settings.
- Tap on the little gear icon and the settings will open. Scroll down until you find an option that says “Blocked” – tap on it.
- A list will show up with names of people you have blocked; tap on “Unblock” in front of the person you wish to unblock.
What Happens When A Contact Is Blocked?
When you block someone on Snapchat, they will be unable to send you messages and snaps anymore. You will not be notified nor receive any message from them, and they are removed from your lists of friends. The other person will also be unable to see your public snaps or any other content you post. You can unblock and add them back as a friend to continue sending and receiving messages from them.
Does The Blocked Person Get Notified Of The Block?
Based on Snapchat’s functionality, whenever you block someone on Snapchat, the other person is not notified of the block in any way or form. You will still appear on their friend’s list, and they can still send you messages. The only difference is that while they can send messages from their side, they are never delivered on your side due to the block.
What Happens To Messages When You Block Someone?
After understanding how blocking in Snapchat works, we can focus on what happens to messages between the two persons after one of them decides to block the other person.
To better understand the process, we must first understand how messages are processed on Snapchat.
Storage Of Messages On Snapchat Servers:
Put simply, any messages once seen are automatically deleted from the Snapchat servers.
Does Blocking Someone On Snapchat Delete Messages?
Based on Snapchat’s functionality, if you block someone, all the messages from your chat will be deleted, which means all previously saved chats, and messages are deleted permanently, with no way to access them later. The whole chat is removed, so any important messages you might have, are also removed. Make sure you block the right person, or you may lose valuable data with no option of recovery.
Even if you unblock them and add them as a friend later, the old, deleted messages will not show up. Once deleted, they are gone for good.
Someone Has Blocked Me; Can I Still See My Old Messages?
Yes, you can still see any messages sent in chat as Snapchat does not notify its users when one of them has blocked the other; based on that, all previous messages are still there and viewable. Although you cannot send any new messages to the other person, they will show up as delivered on your side. Still, the other person will never receive them or have any type of notification popup on their side because they have blocked you.
The only way for them to receive and read your messages is once they unblock you; otherwise, there is no known way of sending messages to someone who has blocked you.
Can Deleted Messages Due To Block Be Recovered?
No, due to how Snapchat stores messages, it is impossible to recover any deleted messages as they are permanently deleted with no way to recover them. Since any read messages are deleted from Snapchat servers and are stored locally on the device, deletion of messages from the device results in the permanent deletion of messages with no way to recover them.
Snapchat allows users to block someone, which prevents the other person from sending messages or snaps further on. While this may seem a handy feature, one must also consider the impact of blocking on the chats and snaps between the two because, according to Snapchat’s functionality, any person you block will be removed from your friend’s list, as well as the messages between you two be removed permanently.
While the person who blocked can never recover these deleted messages, the other person who is unaware of the block (Snapchat does not notice if someone has blocked you) is still able to see and read any old messages or snaps you have shared.